Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Kite flying

2005-11-15
Here is the beginning of an entry that I composed in my head while sitting in a coffee shop on my lunch break on Monday:

you can always tell when it's a monday in the world of retail. Everyone is light. Laughing. Hungover with relief. We are so glad to have made it through thursday-sunday...that Monday feels like a day in the promised land.

Monday through Friday-ers..wouldn't really understand this. And I can see why, saturday and sunday,those most of precious days, are never enough of a break and Monday is just a cruel reminder that Your Weekend Is So Over!

I aspire to be one of those people, but only because I have this idea that my life would change for the better. Maybe I would have a normal social life? Working day and night and night and day leaves you little time to do much else but anticipate the leagues of shoppers that will be clamouring for your very life blood come thursday morning.

If only more people worked this way our entire culture would flow like the retail work week and Mondays would be like Saturday Night!

Date night. Wear your best black dress night. Heels and Jeans Night.

Cosmo night.

Working Tuesday? so what! It's just Tuesday....nothing happens on a Tuesday...:) Mondays would become holy days.

Mondays are a sacred day of utter jubilation in my working universe. We regale one another with our horror stories...stand outside of our shops..and compare our successes and our failures...

It's our sunny sunday morning with the paper...our saturday afternoon in the park with our kites...

*************************

And that is all that I remember....:)

Love and peace

jen

11:41 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next