Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Sacred Heart

2005-04-03
One last thing I got to do with my Grandmother before her alzheimer's got really bad was to stay up with her and watch the Pope on tv on Christmas Eve. My Nanna had Sacred Heart statues and her Buddha's respectively positioned on the fake fireplace mantel in her living room.

And her rosary found its way out of its lost dusty residence and remained cradled by her two hands until the broadcast was over.

She admired and respected Pope John Paul to the point of weeping whenever she watched him pray. "He means what he says...when he says it..you know his heart is in it...."

Coming from my Nanna that was a very big deal. She left the Catholic Church when a priest slapped my mother. Long story short...my mom challenged the idea that only priests could read the bible...the idea being that God would not impart his/her wisdom to anyone else. When my mom bought her first bible (non-catholic I might add) she saw the holes in the Priest's teaching and told him so.

Thats when Evelyn became an Episcopalian. wow. did I spell that right?

I thought of Her alot yesterday....I thought of how that last christmas eve was the last time I prayed with her. it was the last time I wept with her...and now my aunt...whose condition has turned for the worst..may be the next person that I have to say goodbye to But who wants no praying...nothing of the sort.

The Pope's legacy is of a tenacious laborer not content to walk away before a job is done. He was a stone cutter you know. And no matter what your faith may be....one cant deny that he did more than most so called christians to bridge gaps and aid those that need help. Hopefully...who ever takes his place...will allow birth control...and a host of many other progressive ideas. Everyone be well.



I bid you peace

10:40 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next