Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

The Secret Machines

2004-07-25
All roads point to a nice saturday.

Everyone that was scheduled to work. came to work. And I left 30 minutes early.

My brother and Niece and his girlfriend H came over and we went out for dinner.

I had a corona. (note:2nd beer for the weekend) It Was Good.

My brother and his gf H decided going to a 10 o'clock movie was a good idea. I couldn't really argue. A movie is just what I needed. so, with my niece safely tucked into the arms of my step mother,the three of us ventured out.

And Im so glad we did. I,Robot. What can I say? is it seamless and perfect? (that question will mean more after you see it). There were things about it that I thought were really cheesey. Little things. But overall. I love it. I had a feeling that I would. If you are an Isaac Asimov die hard...please don't go expecting that movie thats been in your head since you first read his books---this is a modern tale.

fuzzy-grey has had two really great entries about this movie..run over to her diary and check them out.

And. well. I want to say alot more but If I do. I'll ruin it. Not that you aren't smart enough to have it figured out in the first five minutes and all that......Im not like that though. I like to sit back and let the story unfold before me.

Anyway. I have some words for you to think about. Fear. Patriot Act.Revolution.Free will.Creation.Power.Logic.

And really neato cinematography.

I wondered on the way home how we have come to picture the future as we have ie in Literature and film.

Who decided it would be spaceships and plasma walls? When did our perception of modernity become less and less organic? (industrial revolution i suppose). Have the machines,in fact, won allready?

When the car dictated where the roads go. The roads dictated where we worked and lived. The Machines and The Roads control our daily lives. right?

My friendships are nurtured on this computer. Its on everyday. My life for the past two years is here in this diary. circuits. can openers. machines.

More Inorganic. Less Organic.

But the earth is still holding a trump card. The solar system is still mightier and unpredictable. The sun Will Nova.

sighs. What are we trying to achieve?

Where do we think we are going? In America we are so distracted with things like...Tobacco bans and No Jobs..that We do not function as a We. We function soley as an I.

But that brings me back to the movie. I myself have seen the logic in communism sans the murderous bloodshed and oppression. It makes sense to want to have structure. It makes sense on paper to protect people from the things that make them irrational.

We are just another animal after all.

right?

yet cages..are inherently wrong.

right?

everyone be well

Peace

12:55 a.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next