Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

The Duke

2004-06-03
Something I know now for certain..because for 32 years I have witnessed it (yes give or take the first year of my life...)is the fact that...a John Wayne Movie will always be on Tv..anytime..anywhere..as long as my father is alive.

He loves John Wayne...walks like him too..thanks a wound received whilst he was in the navy.

My father is so consistent. If my step mom isn't cooking dinner..he sulks and eats Frosted Flakes...in the biggest bowl that he can find.(which is bs because he is the best cook I have ever met in my Life!)

If nothing is on Tv..he will find it...the oldest John Wayne movie ever made..."OH I haven't seen this one!"

He takes great pride in his sound system. so much so..that he has to turn it up really really loud every time he adds something to it...and if you visit him...he will make you listen to it. It really doesn't matter what you have to say...."Hear that? Crystal ..I mean Crrryssstaaaaahhhlll Clear right??!!!"

Yeah Papa.:)

There is something endearing to me about the scent of his freshly lit Winston Selects and the clanging of his Zippo lighter.

There is something that makes me think about age. And how he is still the man ..the core of the boy he was on those mean new york city streets. The boy with a tender heart ..that learned very quickly that really, in life, you are on your own.

He is precious though. I can go to him with tears streaming down my face...and my gut heaving over the most trite of subjects...his initial kick-me-in-the-ass statement is always followed by encouragement and compassion:

"Jen..People are idiots...stop taking it all so personally...Everyone has their moments..."

Its sound advice. Today I confronted someone at work. I was so angry..that I was shaking.

Just so you know. I really really hate talking about anything. Im not good at it.

Anyway.

Starlight Express wasn't bad at all. Its really amazing what people can do in roller skates but I felt like the women were a bit exploited. And they changed some of the songs....

But it is really creative...and the crowd was really into it...so thank the theater gods for giving the cast a loud Wednesday night crowd.

I wore high heels. God. Just Slap me. What the Hell???

aaaand moving on to something I read in passing:

The Army says that they Aren't Going To Let People OUt.

Its time for the aclu to do something worth while.....I think they have been bored of late.

Yeah I know the govt pretty much owns you when you Are In the military. But How in God's name..can someone be forced to stay in?????

OH. George Bush....man...I would vote Humpty Dumpty into Office if he were the only candidate.

And that whole thing about comparing WW2 to Iraq???

I heard it on NPR and gave my radio the finger.

Sigh.

Today. Im angry.

But I know I will get over it.

Don't cry for me Argentina has been running through my head for two days...

someone save me

Peace

Love

one more whiner in an ocean of weepers

4:31 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next