Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Darkness Falls

2003-08-14
There is darkness over my mother. darkness paralyzing in a significantly urban town. in the darkness all alone. Grandma G and Aunt Fran and Aunt Elly and Uncle Ricky and Uncle Artie...all in the dark. My cousins. are living the dream of urban fascination with the night heat.

38 years ago (1965) my mother and father were on top of the apartment building my father grew up in (on 33rd and 3rd street) the moon was full...and it didn't matter to either of them..that the entire city was in the black.

here there is a thick haze. I thought it was smoke at first. yes. that is how humid it is here. the setting sun was a perfect circle of burnt orange glass blazing against the dirty whiteness of the firmament.

and september is coming and I wonder if simple troubles will always feel like towers falling down and like my friend chris wondering where his father was for four days because the pentagon was in lock down. will it ever just be that thing that happened once.

when will you bid this summer gone winter. let the blue sky of autumn be my companion. soon.

Peace

10:15 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next