Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Einstein's Dreams

2003-06-27
If time were something I had to take care of. It would be dead. It would have been left all alone on the counter with the work keys. It would have frozen to death in the Ramones lunch box left in the fridge. It would have keeled over in sorrow from loneliness. Or..It simply would have had a heart attack because,today, I pumped it full of rushed unbridled adrenaline.

And today Time...I really thought I could outsmart you. Of course. Today..I thought I could make you bend. make you stretch. Yes. make you longer.

It didn't help matters that I didn't know what day it was. no no that added to the problem. My alarm went off as usual. I turned it off. I rolled over. I slept for three more hours. Time..I told You where you could go.

A starteling revelation comes three hours later. I have a package to send. I have lunch to make. I have this and this and this and that and this to do.

I stored you away yesterday Time..I had 24 hours to do what I wanted and what I wanted was to believe that I had a limitless amount of you.

Today. I had three hours extra sleep. Today. I had three hours to complete 5 hours worth of tasks before going into work.

Today Time I heard you finally say... Enough...

one more measure I don't want to hear.

enough. enough. stop. no. you. can't.have.

I stood in the post office behind a woman that didn't know how many $.14 stamps she needed because she didn't know how many $.23 stamps she had nor did she really realize there was no such thing as A $.14 Stamp.

I grew into furious with myself.

Time ticked. Time pointed out that timing is indeed everything.

one half hour earlier and maybe I wouldn't have been standing there biting my bottom lip self-flagellation

style. god bless the unable- to- add- lady. She just needed stamps.

On the road and Im praising myself. Still not bad I thought. Still OK. Im going to get to work On...Time.

Time slipped into a construction hat and worn through t-shirt...it held a Slow sign. "This is You" it seemed to say

My car joins in...feeling neglected as well...the temperature gage goes way way over to..but not quite sitting right at....Very Hot.

I dragged time to the ends of the road I made her speed I made her fly once I could. I made her swerve and avoid a huge non-stopping 18 wheeler.

today its my fault. Time I know I have thrown you out many windows. I know I think you are unending. But in my heart and on days like this...I feel you tell me...

only so many. only so much.

Peace

11:35 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next