Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

We the People...

2004-07-30
I feel like Ive left so much out lately....

Im listening to the link that seastreet has on his diary for an episode of This American Life. Which is the best thing ever in the universe.

Prison inmates talking about Hamlet...god..its just fantastic.

August 5th is going to be a tremendously good day. Because on August 5th I get to sit at a table armed with balloons pens clipboards and VOTER REGISTRATION FORMS!!!!

I can't even BEGINNNN to tell you how Euphoric I am. !!! And where will I be??? downtown. Even Better? Im getting PAID to do it (which makes me a cheap slut doesn't it?) My company is sponsoring a Voter Registration Drive!!!!!!!

so. Im not great. like. Im not just going into the inner city all alone to make sure that WOMEN register to vote. Im in the right place at the right time...and Im spearheading a Voter Drive.

Im so excited I can't believe it.:)

Speaking of Activism:

A local, Brenda Mckormic,passed away this week of a heart attack. She took in the homeless and battered. She looked after people's children whilst they looked for work. She ran the local chapter of Mother's Incorporated....and fought the system which sought to shoot her down for years. She wasn't a glamour girl with big biz in her pocket...she was a citizen. A Citizen committed to civility and her compatriots.

I immediately thought of Abbey Hoffman....killing himself because he couldn't fight anymore.

Should someone have to fight to take care of people?

No they shouldn't but they do.

I hope when Im out there...encouraging People to Vote...Im able to make them see..that their story is being forgotten. The Citizen is being enclosed....trapped...for the benefit of The Greedy.

Its just one thing. One simple act of will. But We can make a statement. We can prove our point.

We the people....

Peace

8:31 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next