Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

The Future of Unsettled Things

2004-07-04
Happy 4th everyone

The rain fell today in sheets. and fog rose from the ponds. children ran around in the mirky darkness of the 8 o'clock hour with sparklers. with sparklers and tiny giggles.

I walked through my day and night quietly. because I wanted to soak it in. the green of the soggy trees against the thick heavy sky. Joseph Conrad. I kept thinking of him. It looked like Heart of Darkness today. It felt so peaceful.

I went to the movies. Grilled. Drank Iced Tea. And stood outside in the rain.

because it felt so nice.

The sky produced no rainbows. but. today I didn't need one.

I smelled the concrete. I smelled it wet. I smelled the ounce of city and my senses drank it. drank it like I was thirsty. starving with thirst.

I wanted to be someplace cold. someplace dense with color.

steam rose from the ground. the grassy ground. the cold black solid ground.

and I feel. I know now what it is that I feel. Like death before easter morning. I feel like the seed before sunrise...after a good rain.

Im not cold. my soul is not dead. Im in the future of unsettled things.

Im in the future of unsettled things.

Love and Peace

10:29 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next