Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Home...is a place I buried in you...-mellissa etheridge

2004-06-13
Friday. Saturday. Sunday.

Its been a really nice weekend actually. I only had to work about 6.5 hours yesterday...I had friday off as well as today...and the air outside is subtly chilled...its wonderful.

Friday I took myself out to dinner to Tuscany...my new favorite italian eatery. I stopped by the bookstore first and picked up a copy of the New Yorker and Mother Jones (both earily filled with articles touching on everything JL and I talked about the other day). I arrived promptly at 5 as they were opening the doors and I was led to the one small table ..with just two chairs..that they have.

I ordered my wine...was brought the garlic knots..and I was in heaven allready. Salad preceded the bowties in marinara and that was followed by a fresh slice of Tiramasu and an espresso. Its very rare in life that Im not ever self conscious....Friday was a blissfully self-unaware day.

Saturday was low key at work. Thankfully. I had great staff working and thanks to local graduations...not a soul was shopping. The store is in excellent shape. Stem to Stern...absolutly perfect. After work I cracked open my New Yorker and sipped iced tea with my beautiful dog sleeping on my lap.

I opened up my window before I went to sleep saturday night..the air being as lovely as it is. In the middle of the night...I woke up and could have sworn I was in my Nanna's house. I felt the wind blow through the upstairs living room's windows in that beautiful place. The air is cool in new york. Or at least it used to be. The summer nights were lessons in what sleeping weather is. 80 during the day.60 at night. And those sheets. The sheets were always so crisp and clean and smelled of her mysterious generic soap. That house. It is an emodiment of her. I would dare to say that she and that home have always been equally significant. Do you know what Im trying to say?

She lived.died. loved. suffered. worked. danced. sang. buried memories. infused her wishes and secrets. in that house.

Im glad to still have such a sensory memory of it as it were it helps me remember her.....it was a uniquely crafted home. It was always the place to run to when things got really scarey.

Home.

Today is Sunday. Ive had my tea and some strawberries with pancakes. Im off to help the 'rents sell their townhouse. They are hosting an open house and they need some help with the final prep.

:) Everyone Be well

Peace

11:38 a.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next