Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

Globe

2005-07-04
Happy Monday everyone

I was just looking at some pictures of Live 8 and then some pictures from Live Aid from 1985.

I remember setting aside my entire day as a busy 13 year old to listen to the simulcast of the Entire Live Aid show. I had my Band Aid 45. I had my home made t-shirt. I had my peace sign button. And it was a pretty remarkable feeling....to be so young...and feel like I was going to help end poverty in Africa. that must be when the socially aware side of me was stirred up....Im glad I was moved by it.

Well. here we are. 20 years later. And corruption still steals money from Africans. The culture is still robbing women of their lives. And yet another concert revved up alot of young people. It is a necessary thing..that we get the attention turned toward the suffering of people and that younger people are stirred is most relevant...one day they will be older working individuals like me...and they should know what is going on...but...

It feels sort of bittersweet to me. Im One of the Ones that signed onto the One Campaign, as soon as I heard about it. And I spread the word as quickly as I could. Asking for 1% of the Federal Budget doesnt seem to be too much to me. And who couldn't benefit form Jubilee (in hebrew culture of old..Jubilee was a time of all debt forgiveness) But I wonder how much of that money will actually go to starving people.


Stuart, has been writing about this lately...and its true. I will give my voice. my money. my time. to help with this. But I think that the real power ....remains in the hands of those In Power...and as long as They are profitting (spelling?) from Poverty and Disease, the common sense solution to these events, will remain inactive.

So am I advocating sitting in a corner as the world crawls its way along a dangerous cliff? No. Im just saying that Concerts and Wristbands and 45's arent enough.

We need to remember that 10,000 people die in Africa every year from Aids and that our current President cut off funding for Aids awareness in Africa when he first took office.

We need to remember that almost 35% of american children are living in poverty and are going without proper immunizations and proper nutrition; we need to think of this when its time to put someone new in office.

When you vote for your congress people and senators and presidents and prime ministers etc.....remember the world you are a part of...

Everyone Be well

Peace

12:43 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next