Zeroreverb7
Life is the first miracle,Love is the second-marge piercy

I wanted to run and hide but there was this great survey....

2003-04-15
Be cool take the seastreet quiz :)

1) What personal qualities and skills do you think politicians should have, if you hold out for politicians with qualities and skills at all? Explain.

Answer: hmm..well..I voted for ralph nader and I would again. Ill tell you why. when he says he supports something, be it an ideal or persons, he does in fact support them. He is not backed by Coporations whose practices I find unethical. The fact that he relies on contributions means he is free to execute the will of the people. If you are going to run for office please please please dont let me ever hear you say what Hillary said, "the people of new york have said no..but I have decided to vote yes anyway.." Ill find you and super soak you. :) I think to be county,city,state or fed leader is a great way to make the world better. It just takes honesty and a deep committment to end suffering.

(2) If you're to design a semester's curriculum for a literature course, and your students can buy and read ten books, what do you put on the list, and why? What's your course called?

Answer: wow :) hmmm 1. Dante's Inferno

2. Complete Works of Shakespeare 3. The Perks of being a Wallflower 4.The Second Sex (simone de beauvoir) 5.The Forgetting Room by Nick Bantock 6. Tender Mercies by C.S. Lewis 7. The Chronicles of Narnia 8.Antichrist by Nietzche 9.Seven Storey Mountain by Thomas Merton 10.The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo ...I know Im leaving out a Ton of Amazing books!!!!! I chose these particular 10 because Im heavy into books narrowing the gap between me,my emotions,my ideas,and those of others. These books...bear witness to the fact that not only are we humans diverse...but so exactly alike..and.And...a few of these...highlight the magic of Imagination. Which I feel is Essential to Living. I thought of teenagers when making this list...mostly because I was a teenager when I read them all (cept for the alchemist). Kids are different now I imagine...But they still feel all alone...and we Read To Know We Are Not Alone(shadowlands...) My course would be called...simply...Ages and Pages:human experience through time in literature

(3) What book has influenced your life more than any other?

Answer: well there are really three that have...the bible ( sorry Garald) cant help it...I was taught to read by using the bible...Hamlet...just because It was the first time I got It. Lastly...The Alchemist By Paulo Coehlo....have you ever asked yourself...What is My Personal Legend? here is an Arab tale about a shepherd boy that finds the treasure he has searched for is found in believing..in something good. oh...and Good Omens by terry pratchett and Neil Gaimon...because everyone needs to remember to laugh.

(4) What's your impression of the study of philosophy?

Answer: It is really cool how great minds debate opinion and always end up at the same point in the end: crazy,sick,suicidal or murdered.:)

Useless bourgeois indulgence? Useless intellectual indulgence? Useless bourgeois intellectual indulgence? Out of touch with reality these days? All for it except when your tax dollars go for college students to read Marx/Bloom/Plato/Foucault/the Bible?

Answer: If Anyone is willing to give me money to Study Ill go! I will get Tremendously good grades I promise.

I think..these answers arent very clever.

Think reading Kant helps you with your tax returns? I realize this is probably a lame question, because either you won't give a shit, or you will and will probably not feel like going into details in service of such a puerile line of inquiry. So maybe I'll abandon this question altogether. But wait, I'm still talking. Oh, shit. I guess what I'd like to know is what those of you who read philosophy get out of it, how you got started, who you like, and why; those of you who don't, I'd like to know whether you object to it for some reason or just don't have time.

Answer: I was 13 when I first cracked open this huge world philosophy book. On one side Pascal praising god on the other page...thomas carlyle..saying that anyone thinking were souls in a body was obviously crazy. I didnt know people didnt believe in a spiritual life. No Clue. That is why studying Philosophy is so Cool! It opens your eyes! Your Mind! To Others! Its all there...Ideas...Ideas...Ideas...amazing beautiful and unending...I Love that :)

(5) I'm thinking of something... green. Something green.

Answer: Spinach and lemon cous cous :)

(5) That was a joke. Ha, ha! Seriously. Is this the fifth question, or the sixth?

Answer: What? huh? where is my lollipop?

(5) The posers of the previous question have been sacked. For keepsies this time. Sleeping with your coworkers. What's your feeling? (Not that I am now or am in any way considering sleeping with coworkers at the moment. I promise.) Have you ever? Do you refuse? Morally wrong? All your coworkers are ugly/stupid/boring/probably bad in bed?

Answer: I have done it. I dont regret It in fact It (s-e-x) was Great!! ahem.

Im older now (ever so much more than 18) and I dont know if I would bother. But that is an un-question related thing. I have to be madly in Love to have sex now. I would have to be willing to topple my well constructed house of cards....If I was in love with a co-worker. Especially since they are all women now and the bubbas in the pickup trucks would beat us up.

seastreet You are Awesome :)

:) Im going to eat my snap beans and lemon spinach cous cous now :)

Peace

6:47 p.m. :: 0reverb, ::
prev :: next